Fine focus: docks

This is the second in a series of photos that I’ve assembled into categories; the first is here.  It occurred to me tonight that there is such a vast number of photos in my archives, I should do more of this collection stuff.  It gets the photos out of the dusty recesses of my computer and into the light of day.  Where they belong.

Docks hold a special place in my heart.  Not having grown up around boats, this was a new experience once I married – and I learned to love the simple pleasure of walking a dock.  Whether you like boats or not, there is the play of light on water, the sound of the waves slapping against the pilings, and the idea of venturing out into the unknown.  A favorite poem by Emily Dickinson:

Exultation is the going
Of an inland soul to sea,
Past the houses, past the headlands
Into deep eternity.
Bred as we, among the mountains,
Can the sailor understand
The divine intoxication
Of the first league out from land?

These photos were taken in New Hampshire, Maine, and Virginia, and one of these docks I even own.  To celebrate the vernal equinox, here is my anthology of favorite docks.

4 responses to “Fine focus: docks

  1. Wonderful collection of photos!
    Greetings from north of the Arctic Circle.

  2. Love them all! Especially the first one with the beautiful colors.

  3. Memories! Growing up in central PA, on the Susquehanna River, docks were a way of life. At the club where we kept the boat, and upriver at the island where we ‘squatted’ a makeshift dock for the season, claiming the island as ‘ours’ for camping, BBQ’s, water skiing etc. I love docks.

Leave a comment