Twelve thoughts

P1160660 (Large)“The single most important component of a camera is the twelve inches behind it.”   [Ansel Adams]

P1150187 (Large)“The camera’s only job is to get out of the way of making photographs.”
[Ken Rockwell, Your Camera Does Not Matter]

P1010473 (Large)“The goal is not to change your subjects, but for the subject to change the photographer.”  [author unknown]

P1060902 (Large)“The photograph itself doesn’t interest me. I want only to capture a minute part of reality.”   [Henri Cartier-Bresson]

Photo Sep 22, 4 55 12 PM (Large)“You don’t take a photograph, you make it.”
[Ansel Adams]

P1080513 (Large)“Photography is all about secrets. The secrets we all have and will never tell.”
[Kim Edwards, The Memory Keeper’s Daughter] (I liked this book!)

P1010852 (Large)“Sometimes I do get to places just when God’s ready to have somebody click the shutter.”   [Ansel Adams]

Smoky (Large)“I shutter to think how many people are underexposed and lacking depth in this field.”   [Rick Steves]

P1160105 (Large)“I think a photography class should be a requirement in all educational programs because it makes you see the world rather than just look at it.”
[author unknown]

P1160107 (Large)“A lot of photographers think that if they buy a better camera they’ll be able to take better photographs. A better camera won’t do a thing for you if you don’t have anything in your head or in your heart.”   [Arnold Newman]

P1070007 (Large)“To me, photography is an art of observation. It’s about finding something interesting an ordinary place… I’ve found it has little to do with the things you see and everything to do with the way you see them.”   [Elliott Erwitt]

P1160056_ (Large)“Great photography is about depth of feeling, not depth of field.”
[Peter Adams]

9 responses to “Twelve thoughts

  1. Great photos and quotes to go with them.
    Thanks
    Rick

  2. Lovely shots! I really like the one with the fallen petals.

  3. Wonderful photos and I love the quotes you’ve chosen! You really have an eye for photography – you capture such beautiful moments, find the colors that stand out… And see all the beauty in tiny details.

    I also wanted to let you know that your Ogunquit post from a couple of months ago inspired us to go spend a weekend there – so we went early August and absolutely loved it! Thanks for sharing your trip and giving us that lovely idea 🙂

  4. That’s so wonderful that you made the trip to Ogunquit … I’m so happy that I could inspire you a little bit! Did you find the Marginal Way? Next time you’ll have to make the trip to Lake WInni – it would be wonderful to meet at some point!

  5. Hi Paige another great post and great quote and photos
    Terrific , Brian

  6. Thank you for taking me on a wonderful walk through the woods! The forest offers so many features to enjoy. I really loved all of the pictures. I am partial to the cat photo, naturally. But I was really drawn to the lovely elderly couple walking down the street. I felt like I was being allowed to share their love for each other.

  7. The lobster trap buoys, the rustic shutters, the crusty roof ….the flip flops on the dock, and the goofy cat. All beg for appropriate captions. But selection of quotes from ‘the great ones’ are so on the mark. Well done (once again) Paige.

Leave a Reply

