Four men and an ice auger

P1160349_ (Large)

I view the world in pictures. I am constantly composing in my head, framing subjects, checking the light. It has become frustrating because on my drive in to work in the morning I’ll see half a dozen things that I just know would make a great photograph, but either I can’t stop for one reason or another, or I fly by it so quickly it is lost. Sometimes I do stop – I’ll turn around and go back to what I saw – but usually not. If I stopped at every potential photo I saw, I’d never get to where I was going.

One day last week, when the air was relatively warm with our January thaw and fog was sitting on the frozen lake, I zipped past Winter Harbor on my way to the office. There, sitting on the lake, were four men intent on catching fish through the ice at 8 a.m.  It was too good to pass up. Though I didn’t have a great vantage point, and the roads were icy, I turned around and went back.

In the immortal words of Ferris Bueller, “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in awhile, you could miss it.”

 

 

8 responses to “Four men and an ice auger

  1. vintagefrenchchic

    Good decision and nice shot! I missed a great sunset the other night. I got to see it while walking my dog but I didn’t have my camera or iPod with me…drat!

  2. One of these years we will come experience that in person!

  3. Paige, you’ll remember going back to get that one for quite awhile!! Hmm, pity there was no time to go and ask to be part of the party!!!

  4. Happy to see you are stopping to smell the roses. Pardon the pun ….but “Nice catch” D

  5. Now that is something you don’t see in England!
    Good photo, never miss the opportunity!

  6. I’m glad you turned around to grab that shot. In the old days the men in town cut and harvested the ice on Silver Lake in Madison. The ice was stored packed in saw dust and delivered weekly to homes and stores in town.

  7. I envy you. You get to drive to work during the daylight. I hope the guys fishing expedition was as successful as the great photo.

  8. Beautiful shot! Good job on going back to get it. I have those moments all the time too. Always wanting to stop, turn back, and get that shot.

Leave a Reply

