Circle

Photo Dec 26, 5 31 14 PM_ (Large)

Life is a circle, I’ve come to realize. Sometimes it seems that for as far as
we’ve come, we end up back at the beginning. I do not mean this in a negative
way. Take, for example, the garden. In this New Hampshire climate, which some
may view as harsh, I have had so much fun following the seasons. In early spring
plants put on new growth so quickly you can almost sit and watch them curl out
of the earth. Then it’s a mad dash to July, when everything grows so fast it’s
hard for me to keep up. Roses bloom. The apple trees apple. Weeds go
wild.

Then things begin to slow down, leaves change color and fall, the
ground freezes and here we are again at December. It’s this cycle, the circle of
life, that I find both fascinating and comforting here in New England. Of course
it happens everywhere, but the seasons here are more distinct than in my
Northwest homeland and during my first Spring here I was amazed at how
everything died to the ground yet almost miraculously reappeared in April.

IMG_2353__ (Large)

This December another circle has closed. Friends I knew many, many years ago
have come back unchanged save for a few extra lines around their smiles. From
Brier to SeaTac to Fall City – you know who you are – my life will be fuller in
2014 with you in it once again. Good friends, true friends, never really go away
maybe. You might not see them every day but you pick up where you left off last
(even if it was 1994) and they support you through the big life changes. People
I’ve reconnected with this month, along with new blogging friends in other
states and an angel of a friend who drove me to the airport even though it was
an hour out of her way, will make my January that much warmer.

Photo Dec 23, 3 59 26 PM (Large)

So I am looking forward to the new year. I am going to stay in touch more with
people. I am going to plant too many seeds in the spring and stay up too late on
school nights and send cards to my friends for no reason. I will create and
collect and remember and share.

Keep the circle going.

IMG_2350__ (Large)

“All my life’s a circle, sunrise and sundown
The moon rolls through the nighttime
Til the daybreak comes around
All my life’s a circle but I can’t tell you why
Seasons spinning round again
The years keep rolling by.”
the great Harry Chapin

 

 

 

 

11 responses to “Circle

  1. Happy New Year, Paige, to you and yours! I love your list of New Year resolutions ~ they are so ‘human’ and fun compared to my long list of pedestrain and boring ones!! The first actually was to shorten my ‘funtime’ on the computer and get something actually done at home, in the garden and with local friends! Hmm, it is nearly 4 pm!! Well, ’tis only the first and that is a holiday!! All the very best!!!!!

  2. This brought tears to my eyes….I know you will know why….such good memories. Love you.

  3. What a lovely post Paige – I so appreciate it, and I really understand exactly how you feel. None of the people we have met were accidental, and it’s wonderful to fully appreciate their importance. Hugs –

  4. I know that mountain! Didn’t see it when we had our visit. Great photo!

  5. The picture of Mt Rainier reminds me of the million times we walked/ran down our road to catch the school bus. How incredibly lucky we were to witness that beautiful mammoth mountain every day of our lives (unless it was overcast and raining). How incredibly lucky I was to have the fortune of you as a neighbor and best buddy growing up in Puyallup. I’m grateful to be in your circle. I remember that Chapin song.

  6. vintagefrenchchic

    What a great post…such endearing sentiments. I hope you had a lovely time in Washington and I am happy to read you have some dear friends coming back into your “circle”. I am sure that 2014 will bring you only the best! xo

  7. I love that you shared “my” mountain! Oh, your mom and I go back and forth about that of course, but we all know the truth. šŸ˜‰ It was wonderful to see you, and your mom, while you were in town. Thanks for making the time for us! I hope 2014 brings only good things your way, Paige!

  8. Nice blog. Wish I could say you inherited your creativity from me, but my mother taught me to never tell a lie.

  9. Beautiful!

  10. Lovely post! Hope you have a wonderful 2014!

  11. This was in my HOLD file …..sorry for the relayed reply.
    This one (from you) is kinda special ….. from the heart to your old friends & family. Hope your 2014 is a very good year for you & your new job. D

Leave a Reply

