Tomato love

I love tomatoes, but not because I like to eat them. No … I just like to grow them. I love the smell of the leaves, and the size of the plant you get from such a tiny seed, and the history behind each heirloom variety. Tomatoes can be round or banana-shaped, the size of a baseball or the size of a currant, and in colors ranging from red, orange, yellow, pink, green and purple. There are literally hundreds of varieties, so there is always something new to try. Who could resist a plant named Halfmoon China? or Cherokee Chocolate? Clint Eastwood’s Rowdy Red? Black Prince? Mortgage Lifter? Amish Gold? Banana Legs? The number of choices is staggering.

What I have growing this year:
Polish Linguisa – this is a sausage-shaped tomato that dates back to the 1800s. They are meaty and good for making paste and sauce.

Polish Linguisa

Red Currant – A South American species, it is nearly 9′ tall here and covered with hundreds of 3/8″ tomatoes that resemble currants.

Red Currant

World’s Miracle – An heirloom Russian variety, this is a favorite. This one is rare – I got the seed in an internet trade.

Subarctic Plenty – This is a cold climate tomato and one of the earliest. It was allegedly developed in the 1940s by the US military to provide fresh tomatoes to their troops in Greenland.

Oregon Spring – This early tomato was developed at Oregon State University. It was meant for cooler growing areas (this means you, Washington State).

The French Tomato – When Judy and I were in southwest France last year we went to a village market and picked up a few huge, gorgeous, fantastically voluptuous tomatoes. I saved seeds and brought them home. I made up the very original name.

French Tomato

Thai Pink Egg – A prolific tomato often classified as a grape tomato, but with beautiful pink fruits somewhat smaller than a chicken egg. Another favorite.

Thai Pink Egg

So …. next year, when you’re planning your garden, find a tomato with a funny name you like and plant your own tomato love.

4 responses to “Tomato love

  1. French Tomato, huh? You are SO clever. And I see you even have it on a pedestal. We will not be getting that many tomatoes here in cool Washington State. Not this year, anyway……

  2. Paige – My plants are big enough to have all those, but only have been able to pick 1. Dang weather!

    Rick

  3. I love the staging of the French Tomato! Perfect!

  4. Wow ….I can see I’m w-a-y behind on reading your blog!
    I need to start doing it on a regular basis …but I’ll just skip this section on the tomatoes…OK? Not my cup-o-tea!

Leave a Reply

