Anniversary

I spent Saturday afternoon and evening photographing an anniversary party for a co-worker.  Since I don’t have much experience photographing people, I was a little unsure of how to go about it, but my employer assured me she just wanted something better than what her brother-in-law would do.  Figuring I could at least do a halfway decent job, I accepted the assignment.  I showed up on Saturday with my trusty Lumix in one hand and my Canon with the portrait lens in the other.

These people know how to throw a party.  For starters, the hors d’oeuvres were  heavenly.  My favorite – bacon-wrapped scallops – were huge and plentiful.  I could have eaten the whole platter.  There were also bruschetta on toast with blackened tuna, some little tarts with mozzarella and artichokes, and the biggest shrimp I’ve ever seen.  And an open bar.  Honestly, these people could have paid me nothing and I would have been perfectly happy.

At some point late in the afternoon there was a champagne toast to the happy couple (this was 40 years, by the way – definitely an accomplishment and they still seem to really enjoy each other’s company!) and after that a buffet dinner.  More food!  There was salmon, chicken, prime rib, salads, you name it – and a lemon cake for dessert.  I got photos of it all.  After that, a live band and dancing well into the night.

When it was all said and done, I found I rather enjoyed the whole experience.  People aren’t my favorite subject (people aren’t my favorite anything) but in particular it was fun to get photos of the kids.  They all seemed happy to pose for me – or at least put up with me – and I think their grandmother will be happy with the results.  It was a learning experience for me and something rather out of my comfort zone, which is good.  While I don’t think I’ll be doing any wedding photography soon, I found that photographing people isn’t quite as scary as it sounds.

Especially if there are lots of bacon-wrapped scallops around.

4 responses to “Anniversary

  1. You did a wonderful job….much better than Yuen Lui!! You really captured the personalities of the children….I think you can photograph anything, anyone or anyplace and make it into a masterpiece! The food sounds wonderful – Wow! What a party!

  2. You did a fabulous job, Paige! That doesn’t surprise me at all, of course. I really love the two little ones together. And the way you fade out the edges of the photographs really set them off. Nice job! I thought I’d be seeing pictures of food…..

  3. Bacon scallops …amazing taste!!
    They’ve always been my favorite finger food at parties, but there’s never enough! As for the pixs of the kids …you may have found your calling Paige. Family keepsake photos. Very nice.

  4. Linda Freyberg

    I agree with all of the comments posted! I would love to see the food pictures too (always thinking of eating!). And recipes would be welcome, as well. 🙂 Great pictures!

Leave a Reply

