Shooting through

Okay today I am going to take a drastic departure from reality (wind and cold in the east, rain in the west) and post some flower photos.  Don’t we all need some color and reminders of warmer days?  These photos were the result of an experiment called “shooting through”, the idea being to have something colorful in the foreground that will blur as you focus further away – resulting in a soft dreamy effect.  This was my first try with this technique and I thought they almost have a watercolory feel to them … straight out of the camera, no post-processing.  This would also work well with fall foliage.  Aren’t they different?

4 responses to “Shooting through

  1. These are beautiful! I especially like that first one. Nice job, as always!

  2. These are beautiful! Your “shooting through” experiment was definitely a success! If you make these into a greeting card I will buy some. Hint. Hint. Thanks for brightening our day. xxoo

  3. Ilene Fiedler

    They definitely look like watercolors. Those would have worked in my bathroom. I may have to “rotate” like I do the ones over the buffet.

  4. Very cool Paige.
    I’d like to try this with some of the wild flowers in the meadows down at our place in CO. Only problem….we usually leave there before the flowers come out (in June/July). I shot a few the year the house was being built, when I was there all summer. I’ll have to go back and see how I did. Thanks for sharing. D

Leave a Reply

