What nine below zero looks like

It was a frosty morning here, with the sound of the radiators clanking and snowmobiles zipping past the house. How cold is it, you ask? It’s cold enough that the little weather app on my Blackberry reads “n/a” — apparently it doesn’t do negative numbers. It’s cold enough that my car window refused to roll down when I wanted to take a photo (I had to get out of the car to do it). It’s cold enough that the automatic doors in the grocery store did not work on one end, and naturally that was the end I was parked on … so I had to walk the long way around, and I forgot my gloves in the car. Brrrr. It’s cold enough that there was what looked like steam rising from the lake, I suppose because even the snow was warmer than the air.  January in New Hampshire.

Leave a Reply

